Council Members

Food Policy Council 2018 with signs

Council Members

The Washtenaw County Food Policy Council has 15 seats, representing various sectors of the food system. Current Council Members include:

Community Representative – Kim Bayer

Community Representative – Sharon Sheldon, Treasurer

Economic Development – Jae Gerhart

Emergency Food System – Markell Miller, Chair

Food Manufacturer and Distributor – Melissa Robinson, Secretary

Food Retail – Wendy Banka

Food Service – Khadija Wallace

Health Care – Elisabeth Vanderpool

Nutrition – Kendrin Sonneville

Planning – Anikka Van Eyl

Rural Agriculture – Shannon Brines, Vice Chair

Washtenaw County Board of Commissioners – Michelle  Deatrick

Waste Management – Noelle Bowman


Periodically, the Washtenaw County Food Policy Council will recruit for positions on the Council.  Check the blog page for posts about open seats.  Requirements for Council Members:

  • Attend Full Council meetings (typically held the second Monday of the odd months from 3pm-5pm at Food Gatherers)
  • Represent the Washtenaw County Food Policy Council at 2 outreach events per calendar year
  • Participate in a committee and/or a Policy Action Team